Baking Through the Alphabet: F is for Flan Cupcakes

IMG_0834

There’s this one episode in Friends where they’re sitting around the dining table at the girls’ apartment planning Rachel’s surprise birthday party. Phoebe asks about the birthday cake, and Monica says she’s not making a birthday cake, but is making “birthday flan” instead. “It’s a traditional Mexican custard dessert!,” to which Joey responds with “Happy birthday, here’s some goo.”

IMG_0828

The reason why I mention this is because:

1) Friends is my favorite TV show! I don’t really agree with a lot of their morals, but I really do appreciate the friendship among the six of them. The show never fails to make me laugh, and my friends and I love quoting their lines for any and every situation. I own all 10 seasons, and it never gets old. Never.

IMG_0837

2) F is for Flan Cupcakes! I found these cupcakes while watching Food Network with a friend a few years back. It seemed like such a genius idea–vanilla cupcakes filled with flan, topped with cream cheese frosting. Yum!

IMG_0841

IMG_0850

I know the recipe seems complicated, but it’s not too bad! Slow and steady wins the race. The cupcakes were moist and fluffy…and I’d have to say the best vanilla cupcakes I’ve made so far. The flan came out more like a really light and fluffy cheesecake, a bit like the Asian cheesecakes with a caramel flavor. For the cream cheese frosting, I ended up making half of what the original frosting recipe called for, and I was able to frost 18 out of the 24 cupcakes. I’m not a big fan of frosting and a little goes a long way for me, but if you are, feel free to double what’s called for below.

IMG_0830

IMG_0848

As for the cupcake as a whole, I really wish the flan flavor shined more. With the cream cheese frosting and vanilla cupcake, the flan was kind of tucked away in the back. Regardless, I think this is the best cupcake I’ve made so far (which…isn’t THAT big of a deal since I don’t make cupcakes that often. BUT they usually fail–too dry, frosting too runny, too doughy, etc–so I’m glad this one turned out well).You don’t use all the flan in the cupcakes, but you can always use the extra as a side dessert. To be honest, I think I like the flan more on its own than with the cupcakes because it tastes like a light cheesecake. I like the combination and concept behind the flan cupcakes, which is why I’m sharing this with you all. Maybe you’ll like these more than my picky tastebuds did!

IMG_0852

 

photo (31)

Flan Cupcakes
Makes 24 cupcakes
From Food Network

Ingredients:

For the Flan Custard:
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
4 large eggs, at room temperature
One 8-ounce package cream cheese, softened
One 14-ounce can sweetened condensed milk
One 12-ounce can evaporated milk

For the Cupcakes:
2 1/2 cups cake flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon fine salt
1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
3 large eggs, at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/4 cup milk

For the Cream Cheese Frosting:
One 8-ounce block cream cheese, softened
1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1. For the Flan Custard: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. In a medium pot over medium heat, cook the sugar and 1/2 cup water. Cook until the sugar caramelizes and turns into a nice, amber color, about 10 minutes, without stirring. Pour the caramelized sugar into an 8- by 10-inch pan or 10-inch cake pan. Let it cool.

2. In a blender, blend together the eggs, cream cheese, condensed milk, and evaporated milk. Blend for about 4 minutes.

3. Pour the egg mixture into the pan with the sugar. Put the pan inside an 11 x 14-inch pan. Pour water into the larger pan until almost full (water bath). Bake until it sets and has a slight uniform jiggle, about 1 hour. When done, take out the small pan and let it cool.

4. For the Cupcakes: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Prepare cupcake tins by lining with paper liners. In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

5. In another bowl, cream together the butter and granulated sugar until fluffy and light. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well between each addition. Add the vanilla; mix until fluffy. Fold in the flour mixture, alternating with the milk. Do not overmix. Portion the batter into the prepared tins. Bake for about 18-20 minutes, or just until set and a toothpick inserted into a cupcake comes out clean.

6. For the Frosting: Cream together the cream cheese, butter, powdered sugar, and vanilla in a large bowl until fluffy.

7. For Assembly: Cut a hole in the top of each cupcake. You can use an apple corer; I used a paring knife. Fill a pastry bag with the flan. Pipe in enough flan to fill the hole in the cupcake. Top each cupcake with frosting. Enjoy!

IMG_0860

IMG_0842

So for all the January babies, happy birthday, here’s some goo. =)

Until next time,

Soli Deo Gloria, and Happy reading, eating, and baking!


2 comments

  1. Pingback: Flan Cupcakes


Leave a comment