Fruit Tart

IMG_7027_1

I really should be studying right now. I have three midterms and a paper next week, and here I am, lounging in my room, looking at recipes, video chatting, blogging…and not doing work. After I finish this, I promise!

I really got into making macarons (which I’ll blog about eventually) this past summer, and it was great! The only problem was that I always had a bunch of egg yolks leftover that I didn’t want to waste. Occasionally the egg yolks would go into my roommate’s crème brûlées or into my mom’s fried rice, but there were always those days where I had to find some use for them myself. I stumbled upon this site which was great because it gave me tons of ideas on how to use up old egg yolks! It even categorizes them into the number of egg yolks you had.

Anyway, one of them was pastry cream. The possibilities are endless with that one, but Sam bugging me about making fruit tarts using these tart ramekins she had bought from Daiso. So I finally fulfilled her request and made her her fruit tarts. And in return, Samantha Ho took and edited pictures for me (was that a subtle enough photo credit? Oops if it wasn’t, then…PHOTO CREDIT: SAMANTHA HO).

I found this great recipe on Joy of Baking‘s website. I love her recipes because they’re always foolproof for me, and she has these great instructional videos along with each recipe. Not only that, she has this great substitution list (which I turn to all the time because I’m always too lazy to check that I have all my ingredients–not a good idea, by the way–or I’m too stingy to spend money on a certain ingredient) and all these other videos to answer your baking questions. I know they answered mine!

The fruit tart turned out to be delicious! It was perfect timing because my apartment had both golden kiwis and strawberries on hand. My boss loved it–the crust was cookie like and slightly sweet, and the pastry cream was a great combination with the fruit. What made it even better was the chocolate! The recipe says to use a layer of fruit preserves between the crust and the cream to seal the crust, but I used chocolate instead. I melted some semi-sweet chocolate chips in the microwave and spread it on the crust. It was a perfect touch to the tart. J would definitely differ (he hates chocolate! There goes half of my recipes…), so I guess I’ll opt out of the chocolate if I do ever make it for him. We’ll just have to see!

Fruit Tart
Makes one 8- to 9-inch tart
Adapted from 
Joy of Baking

Ingredients:

For the sweet pastry crust:
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg, lightly beaten

For the pastry cream:
1 1/4 cups milk
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3 large egg yolks
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tablespoons all purpose flour
2 tablespoons cornstarch

For assembly:
Melted chocolate, enough to have a layer over the crust

Topping:
3 cups fruit (kiwis, strawberries, plums, blueberries, anything you want!)

For the sweet pastry crust: In a bowl, whisk together the flour and salt. Set aside. In another bowl, beat the butter until softened. Add the sugar and beat until light and fluffy. Gradually add the beaten egg and beat until just incorporated. Add the flour mixture and mix until it forms a ball. Flatten the pastry into a disk, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate for 15-30 minutes or freeze for 10-15 minutes or until firm.

Lightly grease a 8 or 9 inch tart pan. Evenly pat the chilled pastry dough onto the bottom and up the sides of the pan. Cover with plastic wrap; freeze for 15 minutes.

Lightly prick the bottom of the pastry crust with a fork (to prevent the dough from puffing up as it bakes). Place the tart pan on a larger baking sheet and bake the crust in a preheated 400˚F oven on the center rack for 5 minutes. Reduce the oven temperature to 350˚F and bake for 15 minutes or until dry and lightly golden brown. Remove from the oven, place on a wire rack, and cool completely.

*Side note. I actually made little tarts and forgot to bake one of them. I baked it up later and Sam ate it with nutella. Delicious!

For the pastry cream: In a medium-sized heatproof bowl, mix the sugar and egg yolks together. Don’t let the mixture sit too long or you will get pieces of egg forming. Sift the flour and cornstarch together, add it to the egg mixture, and mix until you get a smooth paste.

In a saucepan, bring the milk just until the milk starts to foam up. Remove from head and add it slowly to the egg mixture, whisking constantly to prevent curdling. Pour the egg mixture into a medium saucepan and cook over medium heat until boiling, whisking constantly. When it boils, whisk mixture constantly for another 30-60 seconds until it becomes thick. Remove from heat and whisk in the vanilla extract. Poor the mixture into a clean bowl, cover the surface with plastic wrap to prevent a crust from forming. Cool to room temperature, refrigerate if no using right away. Whisk the mixture before using to get rid of any lumps.

For Assembly: (You can remove the tart from the pan if it has a removeable bottom; I assembled it without removing the tart)

Spread the melted chocolate over the tart, and let it harden completely.

image (1)

(This is what you’ll get. Mmm, chocolate!)

Then spread the pastry cream onto the bottom of the tart shell. Arrange the fruit in any way you choose.

The fruit tart is definitely better the same day that it’s made, but you can also refrigerate the leftovers and eat it the next day.

IMG_7029_1

Yum.Until next time,

Soli deo Gloria, and happy reading, eating, and baking!

 

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Boston Cream Pie (and a Belated Mother’s Day!) | grace(full)eats


Leave a Reply

