Blueberry Crumb Muffins

IMG_6537

It’s been a while…sorry readers! I’ve been pretty caught up with school due to midterms. This past week I had a paper and midterm on Tuesday, and back to back midterms on Thursday. I needed to stay up to do work/study…so I actually got my first coffee-like drink from Starbucks. I usually get hot chocolate or some other non-coffee drink, but this time I got a skinny vanilla latte and skinny caramel macchiato (don’t worry, they were on two separate occasions). Both were pretty good, but I’m still not a super huge coffee fan. They did the trick though and kept me up long enough to get more studying in.

But… HURRAY!!!! I’m finally done with midterms (I have one more on Thursday, but it can wait). I’ve been itching to bake, but I figured I should probably blog first. Today I present to you all…BLUEBERRY CRUMB MUFFINS!

IMG_6536

Yes, this is from the same box of blueberries Sam bought from Costco. Diana is a blueberry-aholic (how appropriate considering she just turned 21 HAHA). Okay, maybe not that extreme, but I know she really likes blueberries. Anyways, the muffins came out to be super delicious–I loved how the blueberries burst and how the crumb topping just complemented everything. The muffins stayed moist and were perfect the next morning for breakfast; I brought some to work and my coworkers loved them! I’d definitely try this recipe again, and I hope you do too. It’s 9 in the morning and blogging about this is making me hungry…blueberry muffins for breakfast would sound really good right now actually…hm. We’ll see what I can do.

Photo Credit: Samantha Ho

IMG_6539

Blueberry Crumb Muffins
Makes 12 muffins
Adapted 
All Recipes

Ingredients:

For the muffins:
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup white sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1/3 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup fresh blueberries

For the crumb topping:
1/2 cup white sugar
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup butter, cubed
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

For the muffins: Preheat the oven to 400˚F. Grease muffin cups or line with muffin liners. Combine the flour, sugar, salt, and baking powder in a bowl. In a separate bowl, mix together the vegetable oil, milk, egg, and vanilla. Mix this with the flour mixture–do not overmix or you’ll end up with a tough muffin. Fold in the blueberries.

For the crumb topping: Mix together the sugar, flour, and cinnamon. Cut in the butter until the mixture resembles cornmeal.

For assembly: Fill muffin cups 2/3 of the way full . Sprinkle the tops with the crumb topping mixture. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes in the preheated oven, or until done.

IMG_6548

Enjoy!

Soli Deo Gloria, and happy reading, eating, and baking!

 

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Blueberry Custard Pie Bars | grace(full)eats


Leave a Reply

