BBQ Chicken Pizza Cups

IMG_6967_1

I have my last midterm for the quarter tomorrow…and here I am, blogging away. Study break, right? But even though I have a test tomorrow I’ve baked two days in a row already (insert #whataremidtermsidontknow)…I have a problem. Le sigh. Anyways, I’m not allowed to bake until this midterm is over. I guess this is the closest thing I’ll have to baking: blogging.

Today I present to you all…BBQ Chicken Pizza Cups! First off, who knew barbecue was spelled with a “c” and not a “q”?? If I didn’t get a little squiggly line under “barbeque” I would’ve never known. Secondly, I made these this past summer…and this is the best pizza dough I’ve had so far. It’s so soft, and I think the bread flour really makes a difference. The nice thing about this is that you can do pretty much anything you want with it. Pizza cups are fun to eat, and easy to take on the go when you’re in a rush. They’re a little more time consuming because you’re trying to mold the dough into a little muffin tin, so when I’m a lazy I just roll it out into a rectangle and bake it as a regular pizza. The dough still works for whatever you decide to do. The other day I made two batches of dough, bought a few toppings, and had a pizza party for me, J, my sister, and her boyfriend. It was good, except I totally mis-proportioned (is that a word?) the dough and I ended up with the biggest pizza that was almost double their pizzas. It was an accident, I promise! :p

(Photo Credit: Samantha Ho)

IMG_6961_1

BBQ Chicken Pizza Cups
Makes about 9 pizza cups
Adapted from My Kitchen Snippets

Ingredients: 

For the Pizza Dough:
1 packet dry yeast
3/4 cups of warm water
2 cups + 2 tablespoons bread flour
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons sugar

For the Filling (you can really use anything):
1 cup cooked chicken
1/4 cup mushrooms, sliced
1/2 small red onion, cut into cubes
1 cup barbecue sauce
pepper and seasonings to taste
1/2 cup grated mozzarella cheese

Dissolve the yeast and sugar in the warm water. Let it stand about 10 minutes or until frothy.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, olive oil, and salt. Stir in the yeast mixture into the flour mixture. Knead it into a smooth dough; add a little flour if the dough is too sticky. Cover and let it rise until doubled.

Meanwhile, mix together the chicken, mushrooms, onions, pepper and seasoning, cheese, and barbecue sauce in a mixing bowl. Set aside.

When the dough has risen, punch the dough down and roll out the pizza dough on a clean, floured working table. Cut the dough to fit into a greased muffin tin. Fill the cups with the filling, and top it with more cheese. Bake in a preheated 375˚F oven until the pizza cups are bubbly and brown. Cool slightly in the pan before removing it.

Alternatively, you could also just roll the dough out to make a regular pizza. Just roll it into a rectangle/circle, top with your favorite sauce or toppings, and bake for about 20 minutes. Enjoy!

Now back to studying for my midterms…oh, econometrics, why are you so boring!

Until next time,

Soli Deo Gloria, and happy reading, eating, and baking!

One comment


Leave a Reply

