Oreo Cheesecake Cookies

IMG_9002

As most of you may know…all of the posts so far on this blog are from my good friend Samantha Ho. She takes the photos, edits them, gives me feedback, and encourages me to do what I love. Not only is she the photographer, but she’s also my apartmentmate and a sister in Christ who constantly cares for me, encourages me, teaches me, and cares for me. We’ve only know each other a little more than a year and a half, but I’m extremely thankful for her.

The reason for that was because a) you all should know how awesome Sam is, and b) pictures today are taken by me. I know–amateur photographer here! But Sam was kind enough to let me use her DSLR and to give me tips. She did tell me to not photograph brown on brown though…woops. If these pictures look funny, please forgive me! But please also teach me so I can learn. I hope these pictures still look okay though; I tried!

IMG_8982

About these cookies–oreo cheesecake cookies! They’re one of the thickest and chewiest cookies I’ve ever had…and it’s bursting with oreos and a little bit of cream cheese. Now I normally don’t bake with Oreos (usually because each pack is like $3…), but when they’re on sale (it was $2.22 at Ralphs!), I go crazy. There’s so many possibilities–cupcakes, cheesecakes, cakes, truffles, ice cream, brownies, and the list goes on and on–and I love it. This recipe uses 18 oreos, and there’s 30 oreos per pack, and I have two…so 18 oreos down, 48 more to go (maybe less because I keep eating them as I walk by…). Expect more oreo posts soon!

Oreo Cheesecake Cookies
Makes about 2 dozen large cookies
From
Sally’s Baking Addiction

Ingredients:

2 cups + 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
10 tablespoons butter, softened
2 heaping tablespoons full fat cream cheese
(you want to use full fat because you’re replacing the butter with cream cheese)
1 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1 large egg
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
18 Oreos, crushed

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. In a bowl, mix together the flour and baking soda and set aside. In another bowl, cream together the butter, cream cheese, and sugars. Add the egg, and vanilla; combine well. Add in the flour mixture gradually and stir until a dough forms. Fold in the crushed oreos.  Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least an hour. I left mine in the fridge for a day; I think that refrigerated cookie dough makes thick and chewy cookies.

IMG_8993

(Nice, thick, and chewy cookies…with oreos in every bite!)

Roll the dough into tablespoon or 2-tablespoon sized balls, depending on how large you want your cookies to be. Place them on a lined baking sheet (do not flatten them! They’ll flatten as they bake and cool) and bake for 8-11 minutes until the edges are slightly browned. The centers will look soft and puffy, but they’ll deflate as they cool. Enjoy!

IMG_9021

Soli Deo Gloria, and Happy reading, eating, and baking!

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Oreo Cupcakes | grace(full)eats

  2. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank you so much, However I am having
    problems with your RSS. I don’t know why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anybody having identical RSS problems? Anyone who knows the solution will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

    • Hi! Thanks so much for the visit! I don’t know how to fix the RSS, but I know that you can subscribe to my blog with an email address! If you go towards the bottom right corner of my homepage, there should be a follow button, and I think if you just enter your e-mail address, you’ll get my updates. Hope that helps! =)


Leave a Reply

