Springtime Update!

I’m baaacccckkkk!!! Sorry all for the long hiatus! I’ve been so busy with school, spring break, and (of course) baking that I’ve kinda neglected this blog. Sooooo…here’s a mini update for you all:

1) Spring quarter is here! Winter quarter was no good–filled with laziness and a lot of complaining. But I am thankful for good friends and family and J to remind me that I need to study for God’s glory and that I am blessed to receive and education. Soo…hopefully I can be more reminded of that this quarter.

2) Spring break was quite relaxing! I spent a few days in Pismo Beach and Santa Barbara with the family, just shopping, eating, and walking around. I also participated in a basketball tournament with my campus fellowship AACF! I scored half my team’s points for one game! That makes me sound like a really good basketball player, doesn’t it?! Well, I’m not. The truth is our team only scored four points, so that means I only got two points. But no one needs to know that part…right?! I spent the rest of the week baking…which leads to…

3) MACARONS! I started making macarons March 2012, and it’s been one of my favorite things to bake lately! It can be difficult, but I find it pretty exciting–I love slamming the baking sheets on the floor (I did that once and my family thought I was mad. I wasn’t!), I love watching the feet rise up when it’s baking (The ruffly parts of the cookies, not human feet! I’m not creepy, I promise.), and I love seeing the results and making other people happy. These little suckers cost a fortune in bakeries/shops, at least $1.50! I’ve even seen some a little bigger than a quarter go for $2.50. Ridiculous. But…after making them over and over again, I can see why these puny little french cookies cost so much…the labor is exhausting! I’ve been practicing a lot so I’ve been getting faster at making these, but they still take a lot of work.

Recently people have been ordering from me, which is exciting because catering has been something on my mind this past year. It makes me happy to see that people will pay for something that I make! I’ve had five orders so far, and I have two more coming my way in a coupla weeks. I’m working on some new ideas (thanks Timothy Lee!), so once those are launched I’ll be sure to blog about it.

Sorry there’s no recipe/tutorial today! But I promise I’ll get to it one of these days. But for now, I recommend you to look at Bravetart and Not so Humble Pie. Bravetart’s recipe was the first recipe I turned to once I got my kitchen scale (which is essential for macaron making!). I’ve recently started using Not so Humble Pie’s, but I recommend both sites. Both have information and instructions better than I can ever explain to you all, so check it out! I’ll get around to a tutorial one of these days, but I think I still have a lot of work to do before I can get around to doing so. For now..here are some pictures to show what I’ve been up to! You can also find more on my Instagram!

Soli Deo Gloria, and happy reading, eating, and baking! (And Happy April Fool’s Day! Play nice!!!!)

IMG_1270

Macarons filled with a peach buttercream!

IMG_0901

My watermelon macaron tower/pyramid! I topped the pink shells with black sesame seeds, and the bottom shells are green tea flavored. They’re filled with nutella (mostly because I got lazy :p )!

IMG_1446

IMG_1492

This was my second order–purple macarons with green tea ganache. This was interesting because it was the first time I had ever made different-sized macarons. My friend Arianne took pictures of the macarons next to a ruler. The second one from the left is the normal 1.5 inch macarons I usually make. Cool, huh?!

IMG_1678

This was basically the end of my spring break. I had three orders–30 green tea ganache, 24 different flavored (which I usually don’t do, but she got lucky because I was baking for another big event), and 75 different flavored macarons for a bridal shower. It was hectic, but a lot of fun. A batch got messed up, but I was able to give those away to friends, and I dropped an entire tray of 31 macarons shells on the floor. Those could’ve made 15 whole macarons..so sad. Luckily I already had enough to fulfill the 75 macaron order. Oh, and the flavors are peach, lemon, and green tea! Hurray for Spring colors!

IMG_1696

These were extra. It was something special that I wanted to do for the Wongs, who ordered the 75 macarons for Christi’s bridal shower. I copied their save the dates (which is designed by my good friend at Pale Designs! She also designs a bunch of other things, so go check it out!) and drew it onto these 4.25 inch macarons with white chocolate and food coloring. It took a while, but I’m proud of my work. I still have a lot of learning to do though!

IMG_1716

These were how my macarons were placed at the bridal shower. What do you guys think?? Let me know! I’d love to hear your comments!

2 comments

  1. Pingback: gracefulleats is one! (plus Chocolate Cake with Vanilla Buttercream) | grace(full)eats


Leave a Reply

