Cinnamon Rolls

IMG_9616

Imagine you wake up each morning with $86,000 in your bank account. You can spend it on anything you like, and each day you earn another $86,000. But here’s the catch: whatever amount leftover that you don’t use disappears. What would you do? I don’t know about you, but I’d do my best to spend every dollar wisely everyday. I’d make sure that I had used the most of that $86,000 each day.

But think about this: We are given 86,400 seconds everyday. Whatever second you don’t use…disappears and never comes back. Whatever time we waste, we don’t get it back.

Same concept, right? But unlike that $86,000, I don’t use my 86,400 seconds wisely. I waste my time on meaningless things, like TV, facebook, tumblr, foodgawker, etc. Think about how much time I’m wasting that I could be using to glorify God! Think about how I could be using that time to meditate on Scripture, to invest in others, to build up relationships, and to grow in my walk with Christ!

It’s the start of a new quarter! It’s week two right now, and classes are alright. I’m taking fewer classes this quarter, so that means more time in the office, at my desk, in the kitchen, and hopefully outside meeting up with other people. I’ve realized that I’ve been a bit of a hermit, only wanting to go out of my way to meet up with people when I felt like it. This quarter, I’m hoping I can spend more time with people intentionally, to actually get to know how they’re doing and how I can pray for them. I’m hoping to manage my time more wisely to be able to do all the things I want to and have to do. Fingers crossed! That’s my prayer request–to use the time God has graced me with more wisely, and to be more motivated to study and to be intentional with others.

From J: “You have 86,400 seconds in a day. Use it wisely, because you’ll never get those seconds back.”

IMG_9597

With that said…let’s talk cinnamon. There’s something deliciously “cinn-ful” (you see what I did there? har har har) about cinnamon rolls. Soft, warm bread swirled with cinnamon and brown sugar, topped with a rich, creamy cream cheese (hehe you see what I did there again? Okay, I’m done) frosting. It’s a little rich, but a little piece here and there is alright. J has a sweet tooth for cinnamon rolls, and we were watching Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives this one day, and Guy Fieri went to this restaurant where they made these HUGEEEE cinnamon rolls, seriously easily the size an individual pizza. He turned to me and said, “Can you make that?” I say yes, but it was months before I actually got around to it (after he asked me numerous times). This was my second try at cinnamon rolls–the first one was a little off, like something was missing. This one..blew me away. The rolls came out super moist and soft, and I have to say, bread flour really does make a difference. Anyways, I hope you all try this treat. So good, and so easy. You can even let the rolls rise overnight and bake them off in the morning! They’ll be gone before you know it; trust me!!

IMG_9617

Cinnamon Rolls
Makes about 12 rolls
Adapted from All Recipes

Ingredients:

For the Dough:
2 1/2 teaspoons rapid rise/bread machine yeast
1 cup warm milk
2 eggs, room temperature
1/3 cup butter, melted
4 1/2 cups bread flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup white sugar

For the Filling:
1 cup brown sugar
2 1/2 tablespoons ground cinnamon
2 tablespoons butter, softened

For the Frosting:
3 tablespoons cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Dissolve the yeast in the warm milk in a large bowl. Stir in the sugar, melted butter, salt, and eggs. Add the bread flour; mix well. Knead the dough into a large ball (dusting your hands with flour if needed), put it into a bowl, cover, and let rise in a warm place until doubled in size (about an hour). Meanwhile, mix together the brown sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl and set aside.

After the dough has risen, turn it out onto a lightly floured surface, and roll the dough into a 16×21 inch rectangle. Spread the softened butter onto the rolled out dough, and sprinkle it evenly with the sugar and cinnamon mixture. I like patting the mixture down into the dough. If you have extra, you can save it to sprinkle on top of the rolls before baking. Roll up the dough, and cut into 12 rolls. Place the rolls in a lightly greased 9×13 inch baking pan  (or two cake pans will work as well). Cover it with plastic wrap, and let it rise until doubled, about 30 minutes. Alternatively, you could let it rise overnight in the fridge, and let it come to room temperature before baking the next morning.

IMG_9610

Remove the plastic warp, and bake the rolls in a preheated 400˚F oven until golden brown, about 13-17 minutes. While the rolls are baking, beat together the cream cheese, 1/4 cup butter, powdered sugar, and vanilla extract.

IMG_9612

When the rolls are finished, spread the frosting onto the rolls. Be generous! The rolls are best enjoyed while warm. If it has gone cold, pop it into the microwave for 30 seconds to warm it up, and it’ll be just as delicious!

Before the cream cheese goodness:

IMG_9602

After:

IMG_9614

I’m done. Happy Monday!

Until next time,

Soli Deo Gloria, and happy reading, eating, and baking!

3 comments

  1. These look amazing, Grace!!!!!!!! Before we know it… I can say I know a successful caterer and baker. :) I look forward to seeing these posts!!

  2. Pingback: Strawberry Cheesecake Stuffed Chocolate Cookies | grace(full)eats

  3. Pingback: White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake | grace(full)eats


Leave a Reply

