Strawberry Cheesecake Stuffed Chocolate Cookies

IMG_9646

Fridays are my baking days. I have one class from 1-2 and no work, so I do what I do best…bake! And because I’m still in the apartment, I have access to Sam’s DSLR, meaning more pictures=more blogging. And I’m going to reiterate this until I get it right–I’m still learning how to edit and take pictures, so bear with me! My photos are inconsistent, but I would still like to share recipes and amateur photos with you readers! Thanks for the support! :)

I had 5 ounces of cream cheese leftover from the cinnamon rolls I made last Monday, so I looked through my bookmarks to find something that would use up the rest of the brick. I bookmarked this recipe a while ago, and I finally got around to trying it! Yes, it was yummy (it was a lot better after it sat in the fridge!!), but the process was a pain. The cheesecake filling was so difficult to stuff inside the cookies, and even after I chilled the dough, it was still hard to work with. In the end, I got the work done, I made tummies happy, and that’s what really matters. :)

IMG_9634

The outside had a nice chocolate flavor that paired well with the cheesecake. The fruit flavor didn’t come out well in the cheesecake, but you could taste the cheesecake flavor. Maybe I’ll add more jam next time. This recipe takes time, and it’s one of those where refrigerating it would make a better cookie. If you’re up for the challenge, I’d say go for it! Then use the extra cream cheese to make the cinnamon rolls! How efficient :)

IMG_9648

Strawberry Cheesecake Stuffed Chocolate Cookies
Makes about 8 large cookies
Adapted from Buns in My Oven

Ingredients:

For the Cookies:
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup white sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
extra sugar for rolling

For the Filling:
5 ounces cream cheese
1/4 powdered sugar
2 1/2 teaspoons strawberry jam

Cream together the butter and the sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg and vanilla. Set aside.

In another bowl, mix together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until combined. Chill the dough for at least 15 minutes so it’ll be easier to work with later.

For the cheesecake filling, beat together the cream cheese, powdered sugar, and jam.

IMG_9628

To assemble the cookies, flatten the dough into a disc between your hands. Place a teaspoonful of the filling into the center of the disc, then close the disc around the filling and roll into a ball. Alternatively, what I found easier was flattening the dough into a disc, placing a teaspoonful of the filling in the center, placing another disc on top, closing up the sides, and then rolling it into a ball. Place the dough balls into the fridge for a few minutes to make it easier to roll in the sugar later. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 350˚F.

Roll the dough balls in the sugar, and place them onto a lined baking sheets, spacing them an inch apart. Bake the cookies for 10-12 minutes. When they are finished, cool them on a wire rack for 15 minutes, then in the fridge for another 30 minutes. Enjoy! And trust me, they taste better after they stay in the fridge.

IMG_9631

Nice, fat cookies. And note to self, taking photos when the sun is setting = bad lighting. It doesn’t help when you’re in a rush either. Haha.

Now…time to catch up on some unfinished reading for my classes. No baking for me tonight :(. But maybe tomorrow ;)

Until next time,

Soli Deo Gloria, and happy reading, eating, and baking!

Leave a Reply

