Magic Custard Cake

IMG_9690

Today, I am thankful for campus fellowships. We had our joint brothers’ and sisters’ appreciation last night, and it was great! The theme was video games, so it was nice to see everyone dress up in different characters. But to be honest, it’s been a struggle for me this past year to get myself to go to fellowship during the week, but I think it’s because my heart lies at my church back home. I’m realizing as I go that campus fellowships are probably not my preference. I love how AACF’s a great, solid fellowship (not a church! Campus fellowships are not churches!), but I guess it just doesn’t fulfill what I’m really looking for. I do enjoy the community, and I know I should be putting more effort to get to know these brothers and sisters, but I think a lot of it comes down to me just being selfish and judgmental–and let’s face it, I have no right to be either of those things. J reminded me that even if it’s not my preference, it’s still a good fellowship, and I shouldn’t be judging it so much. And even if it doesn’t reach what I’m looking for, I know it has still impacted my college life in some way, and it’s probably doing the same for a bunch of other people there, and that is something to be thankful for. So, thanks AACF. You guys are great :)

IMG_9691

Now to the food part. You all must know that this cake is magical. You would think that something that bakes into three layers would need three different batters…but nope! It’s all one batter, once in the oven, and once in the fridge, and voila! Custard layers and a thin sponge cake layer, and it tastes like a portuguese egg tart (which I have yet to try to make!). The custard is sooo creamy, and I swear I can eat the entire pan by myself. But that’s not a good idea, and it’s no fun to bake when I don’t get to share. Happy tummies means happy me! Enjoy :)

IMG_9685

Magic Custard Cake
Makes one 8″x8″ square pan
Adapted from White on Rice Couple

Ingredients:

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled
2 cups milk, warm
4 eggs, separated
1 1/4 cups powdered sugar
1 tablespoon water
1 cup flour
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
extra powdered sugar for dusting

Preheat the oven to 325˚F. Lightly grease an 8″x8″ baking dish.

In a bowl, whip the egg whites to stiff peaks. Set aside. (I added a tablespoon or two of granulated sugar and about 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar to help with the whipping. You know your egg whites have stiff peaks when you pick up the beaters and turn it over and the egg whites hold their peaks. Check here for a good reference.).

In another bowl, beat the egg yolks and sugar until light. Mix in the melted butter and water until evenly incorporated. Add the flour (I used cake flour, AP flour should be fine); mix well. Slowly beat in the milk and vanilla until everything is well mixed; you might want to hand mix it because the batter is very liquidy.

Fold in the egg whites, 1/3 at a time. Repeat until all the egg whites are folded in. Fold until there are no big chunks.

IMG_9674

Pour the batter into the pan and bake for 45-60 minutes, until the top is golden. Let the cake cool slightly, then place in the fridge to cool (or you can let it cool on the counter, it’ll just take a longer time and the custard might not be as firm). Allow the cake to cool completely before cutting. Dust with powdered sugar before serving.

IMG_9686

Until next time,

Soli Deo Gloria, and happy reading, eating, and baking!

P.S. If you must know what I dressed up as, my apartment and I were PLANTS VS. ZOMBIES. Can you tell?! photo (17)

2 comments


Leave a Reply

