Oreo Cupcakes

 

IMG_9782

Remember the pack of Oreos I got on sale at Ralph’s? One pack went into making these cookies, and the rest have been sitting in our apartment for almost two months. But HAVE NO FEAR, the Oreos were still okay. Anyways, I went through a phase where I baked a lot of Oreo goods–Oreo cupcakes, Oreo stuffed chocolate chip cookies, cookies and cream chocolate chip cookies…actually I think that’s it. BUT I’ve never worked with that many Oreos in one summer before. Needless to say, everything was delicious, but my favorite were these Oreo cupcakes using white cake mix. I found some white cake mix in the apartment…but it expired in June of 2010. Gross. I’ll have to do that recipe again the next time I get my hands on cake mix and some Oreos on sale. I had to go to plan B, and I found this recipe that used a vanilla cake instead of chocolate as a base. The flavor is so good; the cupcakes have Oreos in every bite, and the frosting tastes like cookies and cream ice cream. But one note: DO NOT OVERMIX. I’m not going to lie; I overmixed and my cupcakes came out tough and a little dough-y, but it was still soo good. I was worried my friends wouldn’t like them, but they all seemed to enjoy them. Happy tummies = happy me, right?! :)

IMG_9778

Oreo Cupcakes
Makes 21-24 Cupcakes
Cupcake from Beantown Baker, Frosting from How to Eat a Cupcake

Ingredients:

For the cupcakes:
1 stick unsalted butter, softened
1 cup milk
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 1/4 cups flour, plus 2 tbsp for the Oreo chunks
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 2/3 cup sugar
3 large egg whites, room temperature
1 pkg Oreo cookies (~45 cookies)

For the frosting:
1 stick unsalted butter, softened
1 3/4 cup powdered sugar
a pinch of salt
1/3 cup whipping cream
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
remaining crushed oreos from the cupcake

Preheat the oven to 350˚F. Insert liners into a medium cupcake pan.

IMG_9697

Twist apart 24 Oreos. Place the cookie with the filling side up in the bottom of each paper liner. Crush the other halves and set aside for the frosting.

IMG_9703

Cut the remaining Oreo cookies into quarters (You can cut them smaller if you’d like. Quarters are nice because you get big Oreo chunks in each bite); toss with the 2 tablespoons of flour and set aside.

In a large bowl, beat the butter until fluffy. Mix in the milk and vanilla.

IMG_9715IMG_9717

In another bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture. I would do this part by hand to avoid overmixing and because the batter is very thick at this point.

IMG_9707IMG_9722

Stir in the sugar, and beat for 30 seconds on low speed. Turn the mixer to medium speed and beat for 2 minutes. Add the egg whites and beat for 2 more minutes. Stir in the quartered cookies.

IMG_9726IMG_9728

Fill the cupcake liners 2/3 full, and bake for 20-23 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cupcakes comes out clean.

IMG_9758IMG_9763

For the frosting, cream together the butter, powdered sugar, and salt. Beat until light and fluffy, then add the whipping cream and vanilla. Beat until smooth or until it’s thick enough to pipe. Fold in the remaining crushed oreos. Frost on cooled cupcakes.

IMG_9771

Fin. I forgot to garnish with the two extra Oreos I had. Oops. And obviously, my cupcake and piping skills need some work. Will do, in due time…

For now,

Soli Deo Gloria, and happy reading, eating, and baking!

Leave a Reply

