Chocolate Banana Muffins

IMG_0170

As you all probably know, Fridays are my baking days. Baking days are easy when you have a kitchen stocked with butter, sugar, flour, baking pans, etc…but when you’re missing some of the ingredients, your baking options DROP. That’s what happened to me. We only had two sticks of butter, so that meant no cupcakes+frosting. It made room for cookies….but we ran out of granulated sugar. We were low on bread flour, so that meant no pretzels or rolls and whatnot. And yes, the market is literally a 5-10 minute walk, but I really wasn’t in the mood to go out. And when that happens…I scrounge.

IMG_0163

I’m so glad I stumbled across this recipe. The only oils needed were 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil, which we had. BUT THE BEST PART IS THIS: the only sweeteners are honey and bananas (and a couple of chocolate chips, but you can just omit those if you really wanted to). Just mash up those overripe bananas sitting on your counter that you know no one will eat and will eventually end up in the trash can and throw them right into the batter along with some honey–those are your sweeteners. No powdered sugar, granulated sugar, brown sugar, nada. No added sugars, and you still get a super moist and delicious muffin. I guess you can say this is probably the healthiest thing I’ve made so far! :)

IMG_0176

Chocolate Banana Muffins
Makes 12 cupcakes
From Tutti Dolci

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups flour
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup low-fat buttermilk
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1/3 cup honey
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups mashed ripe banana (about 3 bananas)
6 tablespoons mini semisweet chocolate chips, divided
(I used regular chocolate chips)

Preheat the oven to 350°F and line a 12-cup standard muffin pan with baking cups.

In a large bowl, mix together the flour, cocoa, baking power, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. In another bowl, mix together the egg, honey, oil, vanilla, banana, and buttermilk (you can use substitute buttermilk with milk and vinegar. Add one tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice in a measuring cup, then add enough milk to bring it to one cup. Mix, then let stand, and use however much the recipe calls for). Add the wet mixture to the flour mixture and stir until just combined. Fold in 1/4 cup chocolate chips.

IMG_0158

Fill each cup 3/4 full of batter; sprinkle some chocolate chips over the tops of the muffins (I used 4 semi sweet chips per muffin top).

IMG_0189     IMG_0194

Bake for 15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool slightly, then enjoy! The muffins will keep in an airtight container for up to two days, or store in the fridge. I like them better when they’re cold :)

Before:

IMG_0153

After!!

IMG_0161

I spent the longest time in the beginning of this post figuring out how to word stinginess and how it’s often just correlated with money. And it’s true–I am stingy with my money. Particularly with baking, sometimes I don’t like going out to buy another ingredient just because I don’t like spending money. But I think stinginess doesn’t just only apply to money, but also to time, efforts, patience, love, discipline, and ultimately pursuit for Christ likeness and growth in Christ. I always have some excuse ready as to why I don’t do these things…I am such a sinner. And it’s crazy to think about why God would send his son Jesus to die for someone like me. To save my sins? When I lack prayer, quiet time with God, joy, love, and patience? When I don’t trust in the Almighty Creator and fail to recognize His sovereignty? That’s nuts. God loves me, and His unconditional love is all I need. So this “stinginess” factor that I have, it’s gotta go. It’s selfish and definitely not God-honoring. It’s a struggle, but with God by my side, I think I’ll be okay. :)

Until next time (and hopefully soon because midterms are OVER! Err…at least next next week…),

Soli Deo Gloria, and Happy reading, eating, and baking!

Leave a Reply

