Glazed Lemon Cookies

Happy Friday!!!!!!!!

IMG_0292

It’s been a long and crazy week, but I’m happy it’s finally over. It’s been a week full of stress, frustration, impatience, and sin. But as much as I hate weeks like these, I come to find joy in them, because no matter what happens, I have Christ. No matter how bad the week/day/event was, 1) it could have been worse, and 2) I still have my salvation. I think weeks like these (or time periods even) make me realize how important it is to depend on Christ and to just find ultimate joy in our relationship with Him. It’s definitely not always easy, and of course it’s so easy for us to forget, but I think we need to remind ourselves of our ultimate satisfaction in Him. One reminder from John Piper:

God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him.

IMG_0285

Now cookies. I actually made them with my roommate Sam this past week in the midst of midterms as a study break. We both measured, I mixed, and then she did the rest. I think I was a little skeptical about this recipe at first, I guess partially because there’s this glaze that goes along the cookie. I’ve never done a glaze on a cookie before, but it’s actually really good; it’s nice and tart (but you can control that!) and it just soaks into the cookie. There’s zest and lemon juice in the cookie dough and in the glaze, so you get a strong lemon flavor throughout. AND IT SMELLS SO GOOD. I think it’s kind of like a lemon bar in a non-sticky cookie form! I like it tart, but if you’re not a fan of that, you can decrease the amount of lemon zest/juice.

IMG_0274

Glazed Lemon Cookies
Makes about 20-24 cookies
From Martha Stewart

Ingredients: 

For the Cookies:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon lemon zest
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

For the Glaze:
2 cups confectioners’ sugar
2 tablespoons lemon zest
1/3 cup fresh lemon juice

Preheat the oven to 350˚F.

In a medium bowl, mix together the flour, baking soda, salt, and lemon zest. In a large bowl, cream the butter and granulated sugar until light and fluffy. Add the egg, vanilla and lemon juice; beat until combined. Stir in the flour mixture.

IMG_0281

Drop the dough by tablespoon dollops, about 1 inch apart onto two lined baking sheets. Bake until the edges are golden, about 15 to 20 minutes. Meanwhile, make the lemon glaze. For the lemon glaze, whisk together the confectioners’ sugar, lemon zest, and lemon juice until smooth. When the cookies are done, cool them on wire racks, and then spread the tops of the cookies with the lemon glaze and let set, about an hour.

IMG_0287

Until next time,

Soli Deo Gloria, and Happy reading, eating, and baking!

Leave a Reply

