Angel Food Cupcakes

IMG_1470

Two things today: angel(s). Totally unintentional, I promise! I didn’t realize the similarity until I started blogging last night. Sooo…

1) My first Angels game! (My first major sporting event, actually!)

IMG_1160

My sister’s work had extra tickets for the Anaheim Angels v. Kansas City Royals game Monday night. I’d have to say, it was pretty exciting! I got there a few hours early with a friend (Angels fan! Trout fan, I think) who met me there. We waited for my sister and her students to get there, but the bus took a while because it was stuck in traffic. Anyway, I got the chance to explore the stadium and watch the players practice on an empty field (which is kept beautifully, by the way).

IMG_1165    IMG_1150

The students finally got to the stadium at around 5:40 (the game was at 7), and there was a special ceremony for their school and other schools for a program they were a part of. It was a little long, but we all got free caps and hot dogs in the end, so it was worth it =).

IMG_1316    IMG_1256

The game started at around 7, and our seats were at the tippy top. I sat in the wrong section for a good 15 minutes, because it was so high up I was too scared to move. I eventually moved, watched the game (which I didn’t really get, but it’s okay), moved about 5 more times because annoying little bugs kept collecting around the light, and finished the game with some good company. It was fun to see people into the game (in the beginning at least!), and the different cameras and funnies on the big screen. I think my favorite parts were seeing all the students excited to be at the game and being at the game and experiencing the culture. I’m thankful I got to go! I mean, the game wasn’t the greatest in terms of the score (the Angels were 4-11 when we left after the 7th inning), but the fact that it was my first sporting event was definitely a highlight.

IMG_1312   IMG_1281

IMG_1336   IMG_1370

It was a great start for the week!

2) Angel food cupcakes. It was definitely not planned. I didn’t realize that I would be blogging about both my Angels game experience and my angel food cupcakes in the same post until I had already started. I laughed to myself and told my roommates…they thought I was a weirdo, but I know they laughed, hehe. It was another one of those days where I had limited ingredients and had to scrounge in the kitchen. I had extra egg whites (which usually never happens since I make macarons…but I didn’t get the chance to this time around) and cream cheese from red velvet cupcakes (recipe coming soon!). I found this recipe on Cooking Classy and halved it to fit my needs. It was delicious and even better the next day–the cupcake was so soft and fluffy, and the cream cheese-whipped cream and diced mangoes accompanied the cupcakes perfectly. I can’t wait to try these again! Oh, and the following recipe is the original recipe. I halved it when I made mine. Enjoy!

IMG_1434

Angel Food Cupcakes
Makes 16 cupcakes
From Cooking Classy

Ingredients: 

For the cupcakes:
3/4 cup + 2 tbsp granulated sugar
1/2 cup cake flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
6 egg whites, at room temperature
2 1/2 tablespoons warm water
1/2 teaspoon extract (vanilla, coconut, or almond)
3/4 teaspoon cream of tartar

For the cream cheese whipped cream topping:
1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream
6 oz cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup powdered sugar
fresh fruit to top

Preheat the oven to 350˚F. In a food processor or coffee grinder, pulse the sugar until super fine. In another bowl, sift together half the sugar, cake flour, and salt.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the egg whites, water, extract, and cream of tartar until frothy. Whip the mixture white slowly adding the remaining sugar to egg white mixture, until medium peaks form. Sift some of the flour mixture to evenly dust the top of the egg white mixture, and gently fold the flour into the egg white mixture with a spatula. Repeat this process until all of the flour mixture is incorporated.

Divide the batter among paper lined cupcake tins; fill each cup nearly full. The batter will be very thick. Bake for 18-20 minutes until golden and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Let cool completely before topping it with the cream.

IMG_1480

For the cream cheese whipped cream topping, whip the heavy cream until soft peaks form in a mixing bowl. In another bowl, whip the cream cheese until light and fluffy. Add the cream cheese and powdered sugar to the whipped cream and whip until stiff peaks form. Top the cooled cupcakes with the whipped cream topping. Top with fruit, if desired. Store in the refrigerator.

Until next time,

Soli Deo Gloria, and Happy reading, eating, and baking!

AND….GO ANGELS!!!!

IMG_1341    IMG_1369

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Red Velvet Cupcakes (Sprinkles Copycat) | grace(full)eats


Leave a Reply

