Boston Cream Pie (and a Belated Mother’s Day!)

IMG_1100

25 Strength and dignity are her clothing,
and she laughs at the time to come.
26 She opens her mouth with wisdom,
and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.
27 She looks well to the ways of her household
and does not eat the bread of idleness.
– Proverbs 31:25-27

That’s my momma–wise, kind, a woman of God, compassionate, caring, and giving. She’s always willing to serve our family and others, and she never complains. She’s always thankful for what she has and constantly teaches me to pray and trust in God in all circumstances. She is strong in her faith, always ready to faithfully serve God and pursue Him. My mom is definitely an encouragement and a blessing, and I am definitely who I am today because of her. I love her! And I would totally post a picture, but she doesn’t like it when I post pictures of her online, so I think I’ll pass this time =).

IMG_1088

I know I’m a coupla weeks late, but HAPPY (belated) MOTHER’S DAY! Normally our family goes out to some Chinese restaurant to celebrate, but this year we did something different–we cooked. And by we, I mean me, my sister, and my 8-year old cousin. I think this is the first time we’ve ever cooked for our parents together, and it was a joy! Who knew my sister would be quite the chef? And Darren was so excited; he kept asking if he could help cook/take pictures/set up the plates.

IMG_1026    IMG_1029

We had five dishes on the menu–broccoli and chicken, shrimp, clams, baked fish filets, and napa cabbage with mushrooms.

IMG_1033  IMG_1030IMG_1039  IMG_1035IMG_1056  IMG_1021

Darren helped my sister with the napa, and he helped me with the fish fillets. The fish look slimy, but they taste great, I promise! It was funny–I asked him to rub the seasonings onto the fish, and he would literally rub the seasonings on the fish pretty much 30 seconds per side of the fillets. I told him he could go faster (meaning not working on one fillet for so long), but instead he just rubbed the fillets vigorously as if he was scrubbing something off. Hopefully that made sense; it was funnier when it happened =).

IMG_1044    IMG_1045

All in all, the dinner was a success! We were all full from the tasty dishes, but don’t worry, there’s always room for dessert. My mom told me about this bakery that makes really good Boston Cream Pie, and she wanted me to make it. What better day to make it than Mother’s Day, right?! I searched all week for a recipe, and I finally settled one from Joy of Baking. I’ve made a few things from her site before, so I wasn’t worried about it coming out as a complete flop. For me, considering how I’m used to Asian style chiffon cakes and whatnot, the sponge cake was a little dry for my taste, but once it sat in the fridge with the pastry cream overnight, it was more moist and tasted even better. I used the same pastry cream as the one from the fruit tart, and it’s really easy to make; just make sure you don’t scramble the egg yolks! The cake was good, and I hope my mom and aunt liked it =). There’s a lot of chocolate ganache, so be prepared!

IMG_1129

Boston Cream Pie
Makes one two-layered 8-inch cake
From Joy of Baking

Ingredients:

For the Pastry Cream:
1/4 cup granulated sugar
3 large egg yolks
1/8 cup (2 tablespoons) all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons cornstarch
1 1/4 cups milk
1 teaspoon vanilla

For the Sponge Cake:
5 large eggs
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup cake flour
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons milk
2 tablespoons unsalted butter

For the Chocolate Glaze:
4 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped (I used chocolate chips)
1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
(I omitted the butter because I got lazy)

For the Pastry Cream:
In a medium heatproof bowl, mix together the sugar and egg yolks. Sift the flour and cornstarch into the egg mixture and mix until you get a smooth paste. In a small saucepan, bring the milk just to a boil over medium heat. Whisk the milk slowly into the egg mixture; whisk constantly to prevent curdling; strain if necessary. Place the egg mixture back into the saucepan and cook over medium heat until it boils, whisking constantly. When it boils, continue to whisk constantly for about a minute until it becomes thick. Remove from heat; whisk in the vanilla extract. Pour it into a bowl and immediately cover the surface with plastic wrap to prevent a crust from forming. Let the pastry cream cool in the fridge for a few hours before using.

For the Sponge Cake:
Preheat the oven to 350˚F. Butter and line the bottoms of two 8-inch round cake pans with parchment paper.

When the eggs are still cold, separate three of the eggs; add the two remaining eggs to the yolks. Cover both bowls with plastic wrap; allow to come to room temperature.

In a bowl, whisk together the flours, baking powder, and salt. Place the milk and butter in a small saucepan and warm until the buter melts (I used the microwave instead).

In a large bowl, beat the whole eggs and yolks and 1/2 cup sugar until they are thick and fluffy (the batter should fall back into the bowl in a slow ribbon). Beat in the vanilla extract. In another bowl, beat the egg whites until foamy. Gradually add the remaining sugar and beat until soft, moist peaks form. Fold some of the whites into the other batter, then add the rest of the whites and fold just until incorporated. Sift half of the flour mixture over the top of the folded batter, and gently fold through with a rubber spatula. Sift the rest of the flour and fold in.

Make a well in the center of the batter; pour in the butter and milk mixture into the bowl and gently fold in. Divide the batter evenly between the two pans and bake for about 18-20 minutes or until light brown and springy to the touch, and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Invert the cakes onto a wire rack; remove parchment paper and re-invert. Let it cool completely.

For the Chocolate Glaze:
Place the chocolate in a small heatproof bowl. Bring the cream and butter to a boil in a saucepan over medium heat. Pour the cream over the chocolate, and let sit for about 2 minutes. Gently stir the cream and chocolate together until the chocolate has melted, and set aside until it is thick enough to pour.

IMG_1095    IMG_1096

For Assembly:
Place one cake layer on the serving plate; bottom side up. Spoon the pastry cream onto the cake and spread evenly. Place another cake layer onto the filling, top side up. Pour the glaze onto the center of the cake. Spread the glaze to the edges of the cake, allowing it to drip down the sides.

IMG_1097    IMG_1109

(There will be a lot of chocolate! I used a little less than what I actually made.) Let the cake sit until the glaze sets (otherwise, if you do what I did and don’t wait, you’ll have a very hard time cutting slices. Hence, no pictures of the cut cake in this post). Refrigerate any leftovers!

    IMG_1036    IMG_1037

IMG_1131

What a cutie. I’m so glad I had the opportunity to cook with my cousin and sister, and I’m even more thankful to have wonderful women like my mother and my aunt in my life. I hope they had as much fun as we did! And I don’t know if they’ll ever see this post (I actually don’t know if my mom reads my blog, but I do know she tells her friends about it to give me “business.” HAHA she always tells me that she should be my business consultant!), but I hope they do know that we love them =). I hope you all had a wonderful and blessed Mother’s Day! What did you do for Mother’s Day, and why are you thankful for your mother?

Until next time,

Soli Deo Gloria, and Happy reading, eating and baking!

One last thing,

30 Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain,
 but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.
31 Give her of the fruit of her hands,
and let her works praise her in the gates.
– Proverbs 31:30-31

I would cite the entire chapter if I could, but this is the woman I want to be and I expect myself to be–a woman who fears the Lord. =)

Leave a Reply

