Toasted S’more Cookie Bars

photo (18)

I have news!!

I’ll be going on a short term missions trip to Arizona this summer for a week! It’ll be through a ministry called P2 Missions from the North American Mission Board. Our church will be partnering with a church plant there and hosting a basketball and bible lessons camp to outreach to the kids in the community.

I’ve been to P2 Missions (formerly called PowerPlant) twice as a high schooler, but this time I’ll be going as a counselor! It’s a little weird, partially because I feel like a baby compared to all the other counselors (I’m the youngest!), but I’m pretty excited to see what God has in store for me and the team. It’ll be fun getting to know the other students on the trip, and it’ll definitely be a new experience for me! It’s been two years since I’ve been at PowerPlant, and both trips I’ve gone to have been a huge blessing and learning experience. God is good!

IMG_0453

Like my pastor mentioned to us (Hi Mat!), on missions trip we can get so consumed with the “doing” that we forget another crucial aspect of the trip: prayer. We’re so busy preparing ourselves with things we have to do that we forget to pray. We need to pray not only because we are called to, but also because by praying, we are entrusting the fruits of the missions trip to God, understanding that under all circumstances, God is in control and is sovereign. So with that said, please pray for us!

  • For God’s name to be glorified above all (Ephesians 3:21)
  • For our team to be able to boldly and clearly articulate the Gospel (Colossians 4:3-4)
  • For our team to have strength and team unity as we serve and fellowship
  • For softened hearts and opportunities to share the Gospel
  • For our team to have willing and faithful hearts to serve

IMG_0458

The reason why I mention this is because I wanted to make something for the students at our Friday night meetings. I wanted something that could make enough for a group of 25, and something that wouldn’t take up too many resources. My apartment has a bunch of graham crackers and marshmallows leftover from a beach trip, so I typed in smores bar into foodgawker and came across these. And I am SOOO glad I did.

My favorite part of a s’more is the toasty marshmallow. This cookie bar has toasted marshmallows baked right into it, and it’s soo good. It comes together rather quickly, and it’s packed with chocolate, marshmallows, graham crackers, and more marshmallows. The cookie dough base was soft and chewy, and the toasted marshmallows in the dough were the cherry on top. Genius, I say! This is definitely a keeper. I really don’t repeat recipes often, but this one will definitely be repeated in the future. Chocolate chip cookies and s’mores in a bar–what’s not to like?!

IMG_0465

Toasted S’more Cookie Bars
Makes one 9×13 pan
From Carla’s Confections

Ingredients:

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
15 large marshmallows, divided
7 graham cracker rectangles, divided
12 oz chocolate chunks (I used chips), reserve 1/4 cup for melting
1 teaspoon canola or vegetable oil

Preheat the oven to 350˚F. Line a large cookie sheet with parchment paper (for toasting the marshmallows), and line a 9×13 cookie/jelly roll pan with aluminum foil and spray with nonstick spray.

IMG_0414    IMG_0419

Place 10 of the 15 marshmallows on the parchment paper lined cookie sheet and place in the oven. Bake for about 10 minutes, until the marshmallows start to puff up and get golden brown. I really like marshmallows so I saved about 12 for the dough and one or two for myself =). Be careful when the marshmallows are in the oven–they might burn on the bottom.

IMG_0408    IMG_0410

Meanwhile, cream together the butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla; mix well. In another bowl, combine the flour and baking soda; slowly add to the butter mixture. Mix to combine.

IMG_0421    IMG_0422

In a ziploc bag, break the graham crackers into small chunks (not crumbs). When the marshmallows are toasted, scrape them into the dough and mix to combine (I found it easier to peel off when the marshmallows cooled for a minute or so). Add the chocolate chips, minus the 1/4 cup reserved, and the graham crackers.

IMG_0426    IMG_0430

Press the dough into the sprayed foil pan, and press down to evenly spread out in the pan. I found it easier to press the dough into the pan with wet fingers. Sprinkle the remaining graham cracker pieces (I forgot this until toward the end). Bake for about 15-20 minutes. Add the remaining marshmallows on top of the batter, and bake for another 5-10 minutes until golden brown and the marshmallows toasted. Let cool on counter.

IMG_0450

Meanwhile, melt the remaining 1/4 cup chocolate with the oil in 30 second intervals (stirring after each interval) until melted. Drizzle over the top of the cookie bars. Let is set, then cut into bars and enjoy!

IMG_0429

Before!

IMG_0439

After! Just kidding. Not done until the chocolate’s on top.

IMG_0445

There ya go. Done!

Until next time,

Soli Deo Gloria, and Happy reading, eating, and baking!

P.S. I’ve been wondering why my pictures have been so grainy recently. Turns out shooting with a high ISO = grainy pictures. Whoops! I’m learning as I go, I promise! =)

3 comments


Leave a Reply

