Minion Macarons

IMG_4136

Guys…School is in session. Summer is gone. 3.5 wonderful months of work, baking, no school, relaxation, and opportunities to serve the church. It’s weird to be back in school…can you believe I’m a third year already?! I’m entering the real world soon! It’s crazy. And God has been and always will be faithful.

IMG_4174

So goodbye summer 2013, you’ve been great! =)

I wanted to share with you all one of my proudest projects this past summer: MINION MACARONS.

IMG_4189

IMG_4200

 

I don’t make character macarons often because they’re way more time consuming than regular circle macarons, but when I do…I feel very satisfied. Things I’ve done so far (please excuse the bad photos):

Beary Cute Macarons (inspired by Bakerella), which were coffee flavored with a Nutella filling;

IMG_5508

Large macarons for a bridal shower;

IMG_1706

Angry Bird Macarons, which were green tea flavored with a chocolate ganache filling;

IMG_5839

and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Macarons, which were green tea flavored with a Nutella filling.

IMG_0069

For all those character macarons, I used chocolate as decorations on top of the macarons–a mini chocolate chip as the bear’s nose, white chocolate for the eyes, etc. I never thought about using actual colored macaron batter to add to the characters until I came across Crumbs Macaron. She is amazing. She makes these macaron characters made out of 100% macaron batter, and it’s insane!!!! She made these minion macarons and I just had to try them.

IMG_4193

IMG_4187

It took a lot of time (7 hours to be exact), different colored macaron piping bags, and a bunch of toothpicks.

IMG_4140

 

IMG_4113

I found a picture of a minion online, printed about 9 of them on one sheet, and placed the Silpat over the sheet. For the macarons, I made the macaron batter without color, and while it was still a little undermixed, separated them into different bowls and added food coloring separately. I had seven colors: yellow, blue, black, red, gray, brown, and white. I piped the yellow body first, let the batter rest, piped the jeans, then the glasses, eyes, hands, buttons, and feet. Then I used toothpicks to make the hair, pupil, and smile. And seven hours later, after cleaning everything up, I had my minions!

IMG_4135    IMG_4127IMG_4154    IMG_4153

I know this is a short post, but enjoy the pictures (and sorry for the lighting! It’s hard to get good lighting at home). I think they’re pretty cool, and I hope you all think so too =).

IMG_4167

 

IMG_4197

Until next time,

Soli Deo Gloria, and Happy reading, eating, and baking!!

8 comments

  1. I’ve never had luck making macarons, and frankly I’m a little terrified to try again! These are adorable and beautifully done. I hope you don’t mind me sharing them others!

  2. Oh my gosh, these are genius! I cannot believe how time consuming this must have been, luckily they seem to have been worth it! :)

  3. Hi Grace,

    So happen I stumbled upon your blog today and am amazed at your passion for baking at 19. Wish I was like you when I was 19, LOL!! I was more of a lost puppy then.

    Thanks sooooo much for mentioning Crumbs Macaron as the inspiration behind you baking these lovely minion macarons. Not a lot of people do that these days. Really appreciate it from the bottom of my heart. It helps inspire me to bake more …. … as you can see the lengthy detail work of many hours poured into making it look pretty … you can imagine after many thousands of it, you’ll certainly need motivation to continue.

    Do continue your passion for baking coz you’ve certainly have a flair in it. :D Take care.

    • Hi Aleena!!!

      I am SOOO impressed by your work! When I first saw it on instagram, I was SO AMAZED! I thought it was such a clever idea. Thanks for the inspiration =).

      And thank you! I hope that you will continue to pursue your passion as well! Take care as well =) Can’t wait to see more of your work!


Leave a Reply

